Community remembers the ‘three-pronged attack’ that shook the nation

Milford. This year’s 9/11 ceremony, held in the shadow of the COVID-19 pandemic, remembered the men, women, and children who perished at the hands of terrorists 19 years ago.

| 16 Sep 2020 | 05:50

The community gathered at the Soldiers and Sailors Monument on Friday, Sept. 11, VFW Post #8612 Commander Gregory Protsko said, “to honor and remember the men, women and children who were killed, wounded, injured and/or traumatized in the three-pronged attack on the USA by Muslim combatants.”

This year’s 9/11 ceremony was different from the past 18 remembrances because of another national tragedy, COVID-19, which has claimed more than 196,000 American lives. Protsko asked everyone to follow all safety guidelines, especially mask wearing and social distancing.

John Kupillas, Chaplain of VFW Post #8612, opened the ceremony with a prayer. In his heartfelt address, Commander Protsko said we must never forget the sacrifices made as a result of the attack 19 years ago on America, which he compared to the 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor.

Bugler Ray Patterson of the Gung Ho Detachment #909, U.S. Marine Corps League, played Taps. VFW post members presented the salute to colors, followed by a closing prayer and the presentation of a remembrance wreath of red, white, and blue carnations.

In reciting the Pledge of Allegiance, everyone present turned to the flag and joined in.

For Commander Protsko’s full comments, please turn to page 12.

Many area veterans and non-military dignitaries were present:
Brian Evichin, Pike County Director of Veteran Affairs
Sheriff’s Deputy Chris Colella
Sheriff Kerry Welsh
Sheriff’s Deputy Ryan Fuller
American Legion Judge Advocate Thomas Kaylor
VFW Post 8612 Chaplain John Kupillas
Marsch-Kellogg American Legion Post #139 Commander Connie Harvey
Marsch-Kellogg American Legion Post #139 Adjutant Frank Kalmbach
Pike County Commissioner Steve Guccini
Gung Ho Detachment #909, U.S. Marine Corps League:
George Schmidt
Commander Gary Brink
Tim Parson
Bugler Ray Patterson
Milford Fire Department:
Captain Mike Bello
Lt. Andy Fortuin
Jake Peters
Eric Passaro