Pike Bar awards $12,000 in scholarships

| 06 Jul 2012 | 06:16

MILFORD — The Pike County Bar Association (PCBA) recently awarded $12,000 in scholarships, $1,000 each to 12 local high school seniors.

On June 6, PCBA President Elizabeth Erickson Kameen, Esq. presented seven scholarships to Delaware Valley High School (DVHS) Seniors and on June 15,five scholarships to Wallenpaupack Area School District High School (WASD) Seniors.

The PCBA Merit scholarships are eight awards of $1,000, awarded annually to eight students; divided equally among Delaware Valley and Wallenpaupack Area School seniors.

The scholarship is awarded to students who excel in English and Social Studies and who demonstrate leadership and citizenship. DV recipients included:

Andrew Corry Drive and dedication whether on the tennis court (varsity), Future Business Leaders of America, National Honor Society, AP Scholar with Honors, Mu Alpha Theta or a vast array of community organizations (including American Cancer Society Relay for Life Volunteer and more) brought this young man to our attention. Grandson of Milford attorney Duke Schneider, Andrew Corry has clearly stood on his own two feet exemplifying intelligence, versatility and strong leadership skills all of which will help him as he pursues his career choice of becoming a lawyer.

Amanda Dibble Amanda Dibble has maintained high academic standards and received accolades and recommendations from numerous teachers and community leaders as a hard worker and a real go-getter. Amanda is involved in Health Occupations Students of America and bowling. She volunteers to give dance lessons and also volunteers at Bon Secours Community Hospital. Concern for others, integrity, ambition and sense of responsibility will serve her well in her chosen career path of nursing.

Amanda Hutchison Driven, leader, intelligent, moxy and “stick-to-it-ness” are all qualities that helped Amanda in her service on the National Youth Leadership Forum on National Security in Washington D.C., DV News Producer and as a Senior Class Officer. Amanda Hutchison served as Senior Class Activities Coordinator, Student Council, Politics Club, Junior Historians, Jazz Band Ensemble, Broadcast DelVal (Producer/Director), political intern and American Cancer Relay for Life volunteer. Amanda’s hard work, intelligence and fortitude are reflected in all her many successful accomplishments.

Samantha Roa Samantha Roa is a volunteer at the American Cancer Society Relay for Life, Humane Society, Salvation Army along with countless other volunteer organizations. As a member of the National Honor Society, Junior Historians and Reading Team, school has definitely been a top priority to Samantha as reflected in her class rank. Through a strong sense of family, and her dedicated community service, Samantha remains a beacon of light for those around her.

The Arthur B. Siegel Humanitarian Scholarship is presented in memory of Attorney Art Siegel. Pike County Bar Association members remember Art as a unique individual full of life and personality. He had a keen mind, quick wit, endearing personal warmth and a knack for creating situations that left bar members chock full of stories and memories for years to come. In recognition of his legal abilities, his humanitarian side, his compassion, his humor and charm, those memories are passed on to deserving students in Art’s name. This $1,000 scholarship is presented to a student who demonstrates the most diversified interests along with possessing humanitarian interests as well along with a little something “extra” that sparks a thought of Art.

Siegel’s widow, Miriam Siegel, presented the scholarship to this year’s winner:

Matthew White. At the top of his class, DVHS varsity volleyball captain, High Honor Roll, Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society, Chorus, Orchestra, Intramural Fencing, Chamber Choir, Scholastic Bowl, History Bowl, and American Mathematics Competition, Matthew White still found time for countless community assistance projects including being a regular participant in Mission trips/community service in Columbia, South America where he brought joy to other communities by performing song, dance, violin and Spanish song solos.

The Matthew D. Blumberg Memorial Scholarship: Erickson Kameen said, “We remember Matt as a well-respected and highly intelligent attorney, beloved colleague and friend to many. His memory will carry on through the recipients of the PCBA scholarship fund set up in his honor. This scholarship is awarded to students who express an interest in helping children and/or who have overcome difficult childhood issues.”

Blumberg Scholarship recipient, Jennifer Siggia, is the epitome of strength, selflessness and fortitude. She plans to pursue a career in the medical field. Involved in Peer Buddy, Future Business Leaders of America, Young Life, Glee Club, Student Council and AP classes, President Erickson Kameen commented that “Jen Siggia has demonstrated a life long interest in helping others. On behalf of the PCBA, we are proud of her accomplishments and wish her all the best as she embarks upon her college career.”

The $1,000, Dr. Sidney L. Krawitz Scholarship is presented on behalf of the Pike County Bar Association in memory of a great community leader, past President of the Pike County Bar Association and most notably, past President of the Pennsylvania Bar Association, is awarded to a student who excels in school, who exemplifies leadership and who truly stands above the crowd.”

DVHS Recipient, Brandon Angradi: Leadership comes in many forms whether athletics or academics. Captain of the varsity basketball team, all time leading scorer at DV, District 2 AAAA championship winner, AAAA State Tournament competition, United Way Day of Caring volunteer, Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics Honor Society, American Mathematics Competition, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth, Athletic Leadership Council, National Student Leadership Conference in Washington D.C., Biddy Basketball volunteer, Girls Elementary School Basketball volunteer, Babe Ruth Softball volunteer, in the top of his class and future lawyer, the recipient of the annual Dr. Krawitz award is Brandon Angradi.