Treasures of Milford to be 2022 Welcome Party theme--pirates may lurk

K.I.T. Caribbean Connection will perform; populous Host Committee and sponsors announced for party on June 25 that supports work of Milford Enhancement Committee

| 16 May 2022 | 01:06

    Milford – Frequently, a visitor, new resident or someone just passing through Milford has exclaimed, “Milford is a treasure!” said Milford Borough Mayor Sean Strub, explaining what prompted the “Treasures of Milford” theme for this year’s annual Welcome Party on June 25.

    The event is an annual gathering, welcoming new residents to the area and welcoming back seasonal residents. For nearly 20 years, every June the Welcome Party has brought together civic leaders and volunteers and raised funds for the Milford Enhancement Committee’s streetscape improvement work.

    This year, the Welcome Party will be held Saturday, June 25, at a new location on the banks of the Vandermark Creek at Sarah Street and Fifth Street in Milford Borough. The décor will be the theme, so expect a few pirates wandering around, Caribbean-themed and other food donated by local restaurants and a band, K.I.T. Caribbean Connections. Three Hammers Winery is donating wine for the event and Log Tavern Brewery will be on hand providing beer on tap.

    MEC Vice President Eileen Smith, who coordinates the Welcome Party, notes that she expects attendance to exceed last year’s record number. “The enthusiasm is palpable; we’ve got many new volunteers and a great group comprising the Coordinating Committee. They include Steven and Anne Raider and Tony and Carrine Gurrera doing food; Elly Napolitano and Diana Vukel on decorations; David andTamara Ricca and Linda Grady doing logistics; Luke Turano, Dani Rindfleisch and Taneshia Rivera handling the auction; and Scott Smith arranging the band.

    “The Welcome Party builds stronger networks in our community and helps the Milford Enhancement Committee continue to invest in Milford,” said Maureen Dooley, who serves as the MEC’s Treasurer. “The funds raised from the Welcome Party are critical to our work.”

    Sean Strub, who chairs the MEC, announced this year’s Host Committee, noting this is the 15th year Pike County Light and Power has served as a major sponsor of the event. The Host Committee includes Super Sponsors Pike County Light and Power and Scott and Eileen Smith.

    Sponsors include Mario Aieta and Maria-Terese Rizzi, Anonymous, Eric and Barbara Boe, Litzenberger Family Foundation, David Lender, John Loughnane and Carole Sebbane, Berkowitz 2 Foundation, Progressive Health of PA, Inc., Marc Scarduffa and Bertrand Buchin, Sean Strub and Javier Morales, Dale and Yana Thatcher and Anna Montau, Luke and Krista Turano and Wayne Bank,

    Friends: Eileen M. Damm and Tom Hutchinson, Amy Kates and Muhamed Saric, Vince and Renee Dellarocco, Rosann Kalish and Jim Pedranti, Gregory and Patricia Lutfy, Amy Strickler/Lehman-Strickler Agency, John Thompson, Matt and Lisa Winkler and Fred and Susan Weber

    Hosts: David and Julia Barol/Sparkomatic Café and Talkhouse, Elizabeth Billyard and Darryl Rideout, Reginald Charlot and Dr. Tucker Woods, Jackie Damian and George Borecky, Steve Buma and Mary Cooney, Maureen and Joe Dooley, Glyn and Elizabeth Eisenhauer, Dr. Maria Farrell, Fred Finck, Josh Fine and Sarah Anne Brennan, Michael Geitz and Catherine Bettis, Linda Grady, Ed Gragert and Adriana Vilela, Lorraine Gregory, Tony and Carrine Gurrera, Renee Hoover, Bill and Patsy Kiger, Lynn Nordstrom and Verne Kreger, Audrey Lanham, Robert and Suzanne Braun Levine, Richard and Rebecca Lindsey, Joe Logan, William and Geri Lovejoy, Sonda and Lee Miller, Carol Needleman, Larry and Teresa O’Leary, Pike County Commissioner Matt Osterberg and Carol Osterberg, Geoff and Nancy Pitcher, George Preoteasa and Renee Gerber, Rich and Stella Provenzano, Susanne Smith, Laura Staine/Willow, Megan Strub and Doug Manion, Thomas Stukane and Barbara Wainwright, Frank and Barbara Tarquinio, Maryann and Gustav von Roth, Albert and Joan Waldman, Adriane Wendell, Carol Witschel, The Arlene Quirk Team at KW, Josh Sapan, Denise Fey, Karen Haycox, John and Joan Schneider, Makis Xenatos and Steve Statsinger, Richard Morais and Robert Radley, Lynne-nn Walsh, Richard Bloomer and Steven Teague, Edson and Barbara Whitney, Taneshia and Diego Rivera, John Dileo and Michael White, The Dime Bank, Heidi Braun, Donna Ruffino/Weichert, Bill and Bernadette Schilling, Anthony and Elly Napolitano, Chuck and Celeste O’Neil, Ed Gavalla/Jesse G’s Nursery and Margie Gilbert and Dru Whitacre

    # # #

    Date: Saturday afternoon, June 25, from 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
    Location: Sarah Street and Fifth Street, on the banks of the Vandermark Creek, in Milford Borough
    Tickets: From $50 at or mail a check payable to “MEC” POB 1172, Milford PA. 18337
    Info: Call Eileen Smith at (570) 832-4789 or email